Deep linking is enabled by default. You can deep link from a message to any other message via buttons, menus or grids.

Deep linking can be disabled under the Advanced settings on the Send page. When disabled, the message will only be available for contacts who have received the message or are part of a group to which is has been published. 

When to keep deep linking enabled

A scenario could be: Originally, you created a message for a particular user group - employees in London. So you've sent out the message to this group and kept the deeplink enabled. Then later, you want to make the message available for all users in the UK on the frontpage in your Actimo app. So you select the group(s) with all users in the UK, set the relevant category and publish once more. The message is now available to everybody in the UK, because deeplinking was kept enabled.

When to disable deep links

However, in some cases you'd like to make sure that only select users have access.
A scenario could be: You want to make sure that a particular message is only available to management and that no other messages link to this one by mistake. In this case, you'd disable deep linking in your message. When disabled you have the access to this message under your control.

Example

Below, you'll see how Anna - who's a member of the group employees in London - can access the message. Since she is a member of this group, she will have access from everywhere with or without deep linking enabled:

In the next grid, you can see how John from Manchester - who's not a member of the group employees in London - can get access to the message. As you can see, the only way John will gain access to the message is if other messages link to it from buttons, menus or grids, and only if deep linking is enabled. Since he is not a member of the London group, he will not be able to access the message from his lists. If deep linking is disabled, he will not have access to the message at all.

Did this answer your question?